Actors Kang Dong Won and Yoo Teo have been invited as new members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), which hosts the Academy Awards (Oscars)!

On June 26, AMPAS announced the list of 487 new member invitees this year including Kang Dong Won and Yoo Teo.

Kang Dong Won, known for his roles in the films “Broker” and “Peninsula,” and Yoo Teo from “Past Lives” were invited to join the actor category. Also invited is director and screenwriter Celine Song, the Korean-Canadian director behind “Past Lives.”

If they accept the Academy’s invitation, they will become official members and gain voting rights for the Academy Awards.

Since 2015, Korean filmmakers have steadily joined the Academy as members. Actors including Song Kang Ho and Choi Min Sik as well as directors such as Bong Joon Ho and Im Kwon Taek paved the way. They were followed by directors including Park Chan Wook, Lee Chang Dong, Hong Sang Soo, and Yim Soon Rye, along with actors Lee Byung Hun, Bae Doona, Ha Jung Woo, Kim Min Hee, and Jo Jin Woong, all becoming members.

In 2020, actors Choi Woo Shik, Jang Hye Jin, Jo Yeo Jeong, Lee Jung Eun, and Park So Dam, who starred in the film “Parasite,” were invited simultaneously. Youn Yuh Jung became an official AMPAS member that year, and last year, actor Park Hae Il was the sole Korean actor invited.

Stay tuned for more updates!

Watch Kang Dong Won in “Peninsula” on Viki below!

Watch Now

Also watch Yoo Teo in “Past Lives”:

Watch Now

Source (1)