On May 24, Yonhap News reported that girl group PRISTIN is disbanding.

According to the report, the members and Pledis Entertainment held discussions and ultimately decided on disbandment.

Pledis Entertainment confirmed the news and revealed that members Nayoung, Roa, Yuha, Eunwoo, Rena, Xiyeon, and Kyla have terminated their contracts with the agency. Kyulkyung, Yehana, and Sungyeon will be staying with Pledis Entertainment.

PRISTIN was Pledis Entertainment’s first girl group following After School. Seven members were known prior to debut through Mnet’s “Produce 101” with Kyulkyung and Nayoung becoming final members of IOI.

The 10-member group debuted in March 2017 and released two mini albums. PRISTIN also won rookie awards from MAMA and Seoul Music Awards following their debut. Five members of PRISTIN previously promoted as unit group PRISTIN V in May 2018. It has been almost two years since the whole group released an album.

Read Pledis Entertainment’s statement below:

Hello. This is Pledis Entertainment.

First, we sincerely thank fans who care for and love PRISTIN.

We are delivering the official statement regarding the disbandment of PRISTIN and the termination of contracts for members.

The company and the members had in-depth discussions for a long time and deliberated before coming to a mutual agreement. It has been decided that with the exclusion of members Kyulkyung, Yehana, Sungyeon; seven members (Nayoung, Roa, Yuha, Eunwoo, Rena, Xiyeon, and Kyla) will have their exclusive contracts terminated as of May 24, 2019.

We would like to first apologize to fans, who have always been supportive, for delivering this unfortunate news.

Because this is a decision that must be made carefully, a lot of time was given in thinking about this matter. At the end of discussions, we decided to respect the wishes of the PRISTIN members and came to the conclusion of disbandment and contract termination.

Members Kyulkyung, Yehana, and Sungyeon expressed their intent to stay with the company. We will actively support Kyulkyung, Yehana, and Sungyeon so that they can have stable individual activities. We will wholeheartedly support them so that they can be more active and have more diverse activities.

As for the PRISTIN members who will be leaving our agency, we would like to express our deep thanks to them and sincerely support them and their new paths even though their official contracts have ended.

Since this is an important and sensitive matter that required a careful decision, we sincerely apologize to fans for delivering this news late and worrying fans through this news. Lastly, we ask that fans show unchanging support for the seven PRISTIN members, Kyulkyung, Yehana, and Sungyeon as they embark on new beginnings.

Thank you.

Kyla, Eunwoo, Xiyeon, Rena, and Nayoung recently created social media accounts. You can check them out here.

We sincerely wish all the members the best in their new paths.

Source (1) (2)